Here’s a breakdown of how I’d rank the movie’s I’ve seen so far in 2010.

Why do you care, you ask? Honestly, you probably don’t really care at all. It’s just I need to write an entry today, and this is all I can come up with. Hopefully when this year is over I can update this list.

 

First Top 5 Movies of the Year (So Far)

1. Toy Story 3 – Do I even need to say why? Excellent writing, excellent acting, and any animated movie that can make me cry is a winner in my book

2. Inception – Oh Leo. I loved how this movie had such an ambiguous ending. And yet no matter which ending was real, it was a happy ending either way. I loved that. And I loved how when watching it in the theater everyone groaned/laughed, and people still talk about it today. That’s how you want to experience movies. That’s what it’s about.

3. How to Train Your Dragon – “Thanks for nothing, you useless reptile.”

4. Alice in Wonderland – I think I just get Tim Burton. I don’t like all of his things: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, but a lot of his things are really great, Edward Scissorhands. This movie had me when Alice told the Mad Hatter the same thing her father told her when she thought she was going crazy. It’s sweet things like that, that really make a movie.

5. The Social Network – Great/Sharp writing, Great Acting, Intriguing Story. What more can you ask for.

 

The Next Movies That Were Pretty Darn Good (But Didn’t Breached the Top 5)

6. The Town – Ben Affleck should direct more movies. That’s all I gotta say.

7. Easy A – Even though she’s a bit squinty when she speaks, I’ve become a fan of Emma Stone. I just love her raspy voice. And even though some parts of this movie (crazy christian part, tom sawyer) could have been done without, I loved the movies sarcasm.

8. Scott Pilgrim vs. The World – This movie had me at the electronic game-like Universal Theme Song, even if the ending was a bit lackluster. Why does the Asian girl have to be crazy??

9. Letters to Juliet – I know, I know it’s cheesy. But this is the first thing since Veronica Mars and Mean Girls I liked Amanda Seyfried in. And Vanessa Redgrave is a pleasure! Just gotta say.

10. Flipped – This movie was adorably cute. The kids were great and it was just all kinda fresh and different from the usual stuff. It was sweet.

 

The Rest of These were Pretty Good, but Kinda Interchangeable in Order

11. Percy Jackson and The Olympians: The Lightening Thief

12. Iron Man 2

13. Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time – I came into this movie not wanting to like it at all. But I was pleasantly surprised by it. Maybe it was my low expectations, but I liked it. And I’m a big fan of Gemma Anderton.

14. Despicable Me

15. The A-Team

16. Salt – Not a big Angelina Jolie fan and it was extremely predictable, but it’s nice to see women kicking ass for a change, and her jumping from truck to truck on the freeway was pretty bad ass.

17. Clash of the Titans – It’s Percy Jackson for Grown-ups.

18. Date Night – When Tina Fey does the count down for the bad guys to put down their weapons – HILARIOUS. Plus the bloopers are great too. I love seeing a shirtless Mark Wahlberg crack up.

19. Never Let Me GoYou’ve seen my review already. It’s in my previous post.

 

The Not So Great, but Not Horrible and Also Completely Interchangeable in Order

20. Knight and Day – Tom Cruise on the road to image redemption.

21. Leap Year – Gotta love that Irish Accent.

22. Going the Distance

23. The Kids Are Alright – Great acting and cast, but…I dunno…very dysfunctional.

24. Eat Pray Love – Didn’t like it as much as I hoped I would.

25. Shrek Forever After – Way better then the mess that was Shrek 3. And I saw it for free while in Spain, so that always makes things better, yeah?

26. The Joneses


Epic Fails

27. When in Rome – I really wanted to like this. Josh Duhmel, Kristin Bell…but it was kind of a fail. The two had good chemistry, but they weren’t together enough to show it. Instead we had some really annoying supporting cast.

28. The Bounty Hunter – I Don’t like Gerard Butler, but the movie was free on the airplane.

29. Valentines Day – Mess!

30. The Other Guys – Had such good promise, and good reviews. But it was Paul Blart: Mall Cop all over again!

31. The Back Up Plan – I worked on this movie. JLo had no charm, AOL had no acting ability. Fail, fail, fail.

32. Dear John – Saw this on a bootleg CD. It was only about 1 1/2 hours long, but seriously, after watching this movie…i want about 5 hours of my life back, and someone to wipe my memory of this movie from my brain.

 

Well…that’s the run down. Thanks for reading. Come back for more!

 

Riddle me this...

