Movie Review: Never Let Me Go

Posted: October 6, 2010 in movie reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

Title: Never Let Me Go

Starring: Carey Mulligan, Keira Knightly, Andrew Garfield.

What is it about?: A love triangle surrounding kids who are basically being bred to be organ donors when they reach of age. For a more accurate description click here.

Quick take: A dark, gritty version of The Island but without Ewan McGregor. I know that doesn’t sound appealing, but the acting was better. And here’s a picture of Ewan McGregor just to get you through the post.

My Take: First of all, this movie solidified my love for, Andrew Garfield. I first saw remembered his name in The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus And I recently saw The Social Network which he was fabulous in.

Secondly, even though I’m not a big fan of either Carey Mulligan or Keira Knightly, I thought they were great. Carey gets the edge over Keira though because I still find her annoying, and shrill when she’s angry.

This movie was beautifully solemn. It could have gone in so many directions like The Island or completely over-the-top melodramatic. But it was subtle. Sometimes almost too subtle. Like why didn’t they just run away? It was also sad. I felt sad for these characters.

So let’s recap, the words I used to describe this movie were solemn, subtle, and sad. Doesn’t really make you want to go see it does it? Well you should. The acting was great. You really care about these characters. The child version of Carey Mulligan was geniusly casted and a great actress. And you find there are moments where you catch your breath, and you don’t realize you’re even holding it until you get a little dizzy.

I know it sounds weird, but i loved how they cried in this movie too. Instead of dramatic tears, pounding on walls, heaving sobs, they were subtle welling of the eyes, quivering of the chin, then eventual tear downfalls – like how people cry in real life. Well I don’t know you so it’s how I cry. The last time I cried in loud heaving sobs was when my dog, Comet, had to be put to sleep – but that’s another story.

Anyway, Andrew Garfield and Carey Mulligan have some great moments in this movie. Especially in the end. Don’t expect to walk out of this movie feeling elated, happy, sun shiny bubbles. Instead this movie will linger, and haunt you. If you don’t plan on seeing it in the theaters – though you should. Save it for a rainy day with a warm blanket.

It’s worth it.

I promise.

Rating: 3 1/2 stars (out of 5)



Riddle me this...

