My Take: 2011 People’s Choice Awards Nominations

Posted: January 3, 2011 in award season
Tags: , , ,

Hey guys, as you know award season is upon us! First up is the People’s Choice Awards, this Thursday, January 5 on CBS.

Below are some of the TV/Movie nominations and my thoughts. Peruse if you want. Do you agree with me? And Dude, how come Inception isn’t on the Favorite Movie’s list?

Favorite MOVIE

  • Alice In Wonderland
  • Inception
  • Iron Man 2
  • Toy Story 3
  • The Twilight Saga: Eclipse

What I Want to Win: Toy Story 3
What I Think Will Win: Twilight Saga Eclipse.
Thoughts: Since the people’s choice awards are basically a popularity contest, as it should be – people’s choice, I FEAR, with this whole Twilight craze, Twilight will prevail in this category. However, I think Toy Story 3 could pull an upset for the Twi-hards. We can all hope, yeah?


Favorite MOVIE ACTOR

  • Johnny Depp
  • Leonardo DiCaprio
  • Robert Downey Jr.
  • Robert Pattinson
  • Taylor Lautner

Who I Want to Win: Leonardo Dicaprio
Who I Think Will Win: Robert Pattinson
Thoughts: Really, I think I’ll be happy if either Leo or RDJ wins, but again, with the whole Twilight craze, it’ll probably be RPattz.

 

Favorite MOVIE ACTRESS

  • Angelina Jolie
  • Jennifer Aniston
  • Julia Roberts
  • Katherine Heigl
  • Kristen Stewart

Who I Want to Win: Reese Witherspoon
Who I Think Will Win: Kristen Stewart or Angelina Jolie
Thoughts: Okay, okay, so Reese Witherspoon wasn’t in anything this year to even be considered to be on this list, but the rest are slim pickins. I’m not a fan of Angelina Jolie or Jennifer Aniston, I like Katherine Heigl sometimes, but The Killers was just awful. So…yeah. ..moving on.

 

Favorite ACTION MOVIE

  • Iron Man 2
  • Kick-Ass
  • Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time
  • Robin Hood
  • Salt

What I Want to Win: Kick Ass
What I Think Will Win: Iron Man.
Thoughts: Seriously? Where’s Inception?

 

Favorite ACTION STAR

  • Angelina Jolie
  • Bradley Cooper
  • Jackie Chan
  • Jake Gyllenhaal
  • Robert Downey Jr

Who I Want to Win: Robert Downey Jr.
Who I Think Will Win: Angelina Jolie
Thoughts: Again, Leonardo Dicaprio? He should most definitely be on this list!

 

Favorite DRAMA MOVIE – VOTE

  • Alice in Wonderland
  • Dear John
  • Inception
  • The Social Network
  • The Twilight Saga: Eclipse

What I Want to Win: Either the Social Network or Inception, with the edge a little more to Inception.
What I think Will Win: Twilight.
Thoughts: Really? Inception as a Drama? And seriously? Dear John is on this list? Seriously? I hated that movie. It’s not a drama.

 

Favorite FAMILY MOVIE

  • Despicable Me
  • How to Train Your Dragon
  • The Karate Kid
  • Shrek Forever After
  • Toy Story 3

What I Want to Win: Toy Story 3
What I Think Will Win: Toy Story 3
Thoughts: I’d be okay if How To Train Your Dragon Won.  But Toy Story 3 deserves it.


Favorite COMEDY MOVIE

  • Date Night
  • Easy A
  • Grown Ups
  • Sex and the City 2
  • Valentine’s Day

What I Want to Win: Easy A
What I Think Will Win: Easy A
Thoughts: Easy A, no contest.


Favorite COMEDIC STAR

  • Adam Sandler
  • Drew Barrymore
  • Steve Carell
  • Tina Fey
  • Will Ferrell

Who I Want To Win: Tina Fey
Who I Think Will Win: Tina Fey.
Thoughts: With the exception of Adam Sandler and Drew Berrymore (What was Adam Sandler even in this year?) I’ll be fine if the other 3 win.

 

Favorite ON SCREEN TEAM

  • Date Night: Tina Fey & Steve Carell
  • Inception: Leonardo DiCaprio, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Ellen Page, Tom Hardy, Dileep Rao
  • Iron Man 2: Robert Downey Jr. & Don Cheadle
  • The Karate Kid: Jaden Smith & Jackie Chan
  • The Twilight Saga: Eclipse: Robert Pattinson, Kristen Stewart, Taylor Lautner

What I Want to Win: If you haven’t already guessed it. Inception.
What I think Will Win: Yes, Twilight
Thoughts: Where the hell is Harry Potter on this list?

 

Favorite TV DRAMA

  • The Good Wife
  • Gossip Girl
  • Grey’s Anatomy
  • House
  • The Vampire Diaries

What I Want to Win: Grey’s Anatomy
What I Think Will Win: The Vampire Diaries
Thoughts: Grey’s has been really good this year.

 

Favorite TV DRAMA ACTOR

  • Chace Crawford
  • Hugh Laurie
  • Ian Somerhalder
  • Patrick Dempsey
  • Taye Diggs

Who I want to Win: Ian Somerhalder
Who I Think Will Win: Ian Somerhalder
Thoughts: Ian Somerhalder is easy on the eyes. Wait, what were we talking about again?

 

Favorite TV DRAMA ACTRESS

  • Blake Lively
  • Julianna Margulies
  • Kate Walsh
  • Lisa Edelstein
  • Sandra Oh

Who I want to Win: Sandra Oh
Who I Think Will Win: No. Freakin. Clue.
Thoughts: Sandra Oh has done some fantastic work this season. Plus she’s gotta represent for the Asians.

 

Favorite TV COMEDY

  • The Big Bang Theory
  • Glee
  • How I Met Your Mother
  • Modern Family
  • Two and a Half Men

What I Want to Win: Big Bang Theory
What I Think Will Win: Glee
Thoughts: This is a hard category, because with the exception of Two and A Half Men, all of these choices are fantastic.

 

Favorite TV COMEDY ACTOR

  • Alec Baldwin
  • Jim Parsons
  • Matthew Morrison
  • Neil Patrick Harris
  • Steve Carell

Who I Want to Win: Jim Parsons or Neil Patrick Harris
Who I Think Will Win: Neil Patrick Harris
Thoughts: It’s about time NPH wins something!

 

Favorite TV COMEDY ACTRESS

  • Alyson Hannigan
  • Courteney Cox
  • Eva Longoria Parker
  • Jane Lynch
  • Tina Fey

Who I want to Win: Alyson Hannigan
Who I Think Will Win: Jane Lynch
Thoughts: It’s still a Glee craze out there, and J.L. is fantastic. But I think Alyson Hannigon is totally underrated. Love. Her.

 

Favorite COMPETITION SHOW

  • America’s Got Talent
  • American Idol
  • Dancing With The Stars
  • Hell’s Kitchen
  • So You Think You Can Dance

What I Want to Win: So You Think You Can Dance
What I Think Will Win: American Idol, or Dancing with the Stars.
Thoughts: SYTYCD is the only show where the contestants have REAL TALENT.

 

Favorite TV CRIME DRAMA

  • Bones
  • Criminal Minds
  • Law & Order: Special Victims Unit
  • Lie To Me
  • NCIS

What I Want to Win: Bones
What I Think Will Win: I have no freakin clue.

 

Favorite TV OBSESSION

  • Burn Notice
  • Dexter
  • Pretty Little Liars
  • True Blood
  • White Collar

What I Want to Win: Dexter
What I Think Will Win: Pretty Little Liars
Thoughts: I’ll be okay if either Dexter or Pretty Little Liars win. I really like Dexter, but PLL is much more – pop culture – or whatever that right word is.


Favorite NEW TV DRAMA

  • Blue Bloods
  • Chase
  • The Defenders
  • Detroit 1-8-7
  • The Event
  • Hawaii Five-O
  • Hellcats
  • Law and Order: Los Angeles
  • Nikita

What I Want to Win: Hawaii Five-O
What I Think Will Win: Hawaii Five-O
Thoughts: I’ve seen all these TV shows except for Detroit 187 and The Defenders. I think it’s kind of a toss up between Hellcats and Hawaii 5-0 FTW, but a shirtless Alex O’Loughlin may give H50 the slight edge.

 

Favorite NEW TV COMEDY

  • $#-! My Dad Says
  • Better With You
  • Mike & Molly
  • No Ordinary Family
  • Outsourced
  • Raising Hope
  • Running Wilde

What I Want to Win: Raising Hope
What I Think Will Win: Raising Hope



So, those are my predictions/thoughts for this years 2011 People Choice Awards. For a complete list of all the nominees click on the link below.

Other Categories: Favorite MALE ARTIST, Favorite FEMALE ARTIST, Favorite SONG, Favorite ROCK BAND, Favorite BREAKOUT ARTIST, Favorite POP ARTIST, Favorite COUNTRY ARTIST, Favorite R&B ARTIST, Favorite HIP-HOP ARTIST, Favorite MUSIC VIDEO, Favorite WEB CELEB, Favorite VIRAL VIDEO STAR, Favorite MOVIE STAR UNDER 25, Favorite HORROR MOVIE, Favorite TV CRIME FIGHTER, Favorite SCI-FI/FANTASY SHOW, Favorite TALK SHOW HOST, Favorite TV GUILTY PLEASURE, Favorite TV GUEST STAR, Favorite TV DOCTOR, Favorite TV FAMILY, Favorite FAMILY TV MOVIE, Favorite TV CHEF.

 

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    Killers was bad..but loved Life As We Know It. Would like Heigl to win but The Twilight freaks will vote for Stewart en masse.

  2. Amanda says:

    Adam sandler was in Grown ups!!!

Riddle me this...

